The LA Eiga Fest

Yesterday, I went to a few screenings at the Los Angeles Eiga (映画 / Film) Festival in Hollywood at the Egyptian Theater.

Flyer pic
Inspiration to keep moving forward with this film.

I watched the new Toei anime “アシュラ” (Ashura) and the Short film, “Mo Ikkai” before that. “Mo Ikkai” was very calm and cerebral while “Ashura” was very violent and gorey but yet, thought provoking and beautiful in the end.

Afterwards I stuck around for the shorts competition and had no idea I’d be participating in the audience award selection. I enjoyed all six films. “Sacrifice” was very thought provoking and eye opening about the seemingly forgotten victims of the Fukushima radiation fall out while “Battle on the Underground” and “Edo of the Dead” were both fun films to enjoy a sillier side of everything. “Yukuharu” and “Nuku Nuku” (love the cast and cinematography in this film) were very strong and well done dramas but the audience award and competition winner is definitely “Famiry“.

Famiry is just a stand out fun short film that is full of twists, turns, and surprises. The lead actress is brilliant along with the director’s choice of shots and editing. There are some predictable story elements but the director still plays with them enough that I didn’t really care. I don’t want to sound too much like a critic but I really enjoyed this film and look forward to seeing what the director and cast do next.

I enjoyed myself for the most part but everything seemed a little disorganized. I was under the impression that the LA Eiga Fest had been around for years but it turned out this was their second year. So with that, I expect great things to happen in the coming years.

Watching every film inspired me to keep going with my own (American Hikikomori) so that I, too, can showcase a story that has meaning to me, and possibly, other people around the globe.

Author: hikikomori78

American Hikikomori is an upcoming short film that explores the emotional struggles of a Japanese teenager named Isamu Fujihara, when he moves to America.

Leave a Reply

