Production Blog #11: Something encouraging…

Growing up, my parents made it a point for me to never take anything for granted. I wore some hand me down clothes, wore my shoes until they fell off my feet, and I damn sure ate everything on my plate. They made sure I knew that anything I wanted I was going to have to work hard for it.

So far in my short, but still promising, life I can’t help but notice an overwhelming sense of entitlement people tend to have from time to time. It’s one thing to take something for granted. We all do it. But expecting something to be handed to us without much effort is out right ridiculous; almost insulting.

The amazing but (sometimes) frustrating thing about making movies is that (in general) there is not one way to do it. Two weeks ago, I was feeling a little frustrated and apprehensive about the next few steps I have to take for this film.

Then, I saw this posting on a PR stream in Facebook and followed the link.

Maybe it's the turbulence on our journey that makes the destination of our goals so sweet and worth this journey.
Maybe it’s the turbulence on our journey that makes the destination of our goals so sweet and worth this journey.

Right after reading it I said, “Damn straight!”

And refocused my efforts; embracing my challenges.

Food for thought?

Check us out on Facebook and Twitter. Or sign up for our Newsletter through our Website.

Author: hikikomori78

American Hikikomori is an upcoming short film that explores the emotional struggles of a Japanese teenager named Isamu Fujihara, when he moves to America.

Leave a Reply

