Asking the natives: What is a Hikikomori?

My wife’s friends were more than happy to tell me about Hikikomori and their own personal experiences with the phenomenon. To date, I haven’t convinced any of them to go on camera and explain it in their own words. So, instead, I thought I’d share something I came across during my research.

painting

Japan Channel.Com is one foreigner’s perspective of Japan, most videos are based on his life in the land of the rising sun and his personal experiences. Most of his videos are observations or personal commentary, however they  are still full of a lot of useful information and perspectives for anyone thinking about visiting or living over there.

From their website:

“TheJapanChannel.com is for people who are interested in all sorts of stuff from Japan.

Old Japanese culture, modern Japanese culture, latest Japanese technology, Japanese language, Japanese music, Japanese martial arts and beautiful Japanese scenery are all here.”

I really enjoyed his interview videos with his friends. Check out his video about Hikikomori.

During my web surfing I came across this track by a group named Silicone Soul also named, Hikikomori.

It’s not bad, kinda reminds me of Tangerine Dream or some other progressive music from the 80’s.

Check us out on Facebook and Twitter. Or sign up for our Newsletter through our Website.

Author: hikikomori78

American Hikikomori is an upcoming short film that explores the emotional struggles of a Japanese teenager named Isamu Fujihara, when he moves to America.

One thought on “Asking the natives: What is a Hikikomori?”

Leave a Reply

