What do you want more than anything?

Fuji

 

About four years ago, in the mid summer of 2012, I set out to make a short film about Hikikomori. I set up this blog in hopes of connecting to other filmmakers and people who like the same things I like.

I also set out to tell a story about something I had never heard of, growing up in America, but very quickly came to empathize with. Despite its Japanese origins, I feel like I understand why some people become Hikikomori.

It just spoke to me and I had to tell this story.

Is happiness (with your life and dreams) supposed to be about the destination or the journey?

At this point in my life, it’s both and it’s a fleeting happiness. I think this is the blessing and the curse of making movies or telling stories. Once it’s done. You’re back at zero but you welcome it because the process won’t be the same experience the next time around. The people you will meet along the way will inspire you as well as challenge you. The art form completely has you at it’s mercy but there’s no other way you’d rather spend your time.

This film took me longer than I thought, cost more than I thought, and I still manage to meet people who are willing to help me. It’s very humbling and truly amazing.

 

What you do I want more than anything?

I guess I want to keep doing this.

I’m already writing and researching the next film.

What you do you want more than anything?

 

For more information or questions, email us at:

info@americanhikikomori.com

Or visit our social media links:

Author: hikikomori78

American Hikikomori is an upcoming short film that explores the emotional struggles of a Japanese teenager named Isamu Fujihara, when he moves to America.

1 thought on “What do you want more than anything?”

Leave a Reply

