Baggage…

What are you holding on to from the past?

We’ve all got baggage. Everyone has at least a carry on or personal item.

Some people are better at handling their baggage than others. It can be big and awkward or small and discreet.

No one wants to carry your baggage. They may offer to help you but ultimately you own it and have to deal with it.

I’m in my late 30’s and I absolutely have baggage. The difference now, as opposed to ten years ago, is that my baggage is pretty light and compact. I have learned that carrying everything with me was just not efficient or good for my health. It really slowed me down and sometimes got in the way of some relationships I really valued and held me back from destinations I wanted to visit.

Fortunately, I’ve been lucky enough to meet people who’ve shown me how to re-evaluate my journey.

Now, I pack light. I only take the essentials and even then, I try to leave enough space for better experiences and people to enrich my journey.

Now, my baggage doesn’t weigh me down as much. I still have post cards and stickers that remind me of where I’ve been. No point in forgetting the lessons I’ve learned.

Now I try to enjoy my journey as more and more destinations come and go.

Memories are your souvenirs in this journey of life. Why not focus on collecting the good ones and leaving the bad ones behind where you found them?

It’s not like any of us knows when this trip is over.

For more information or questions, email us at:

info@americanhikikomori.com

Or visit our social media links:

Author: hikikomori78

American Hikikomori is an upcoming short film that explores the emotional struggles of a Japanese teenager named Isamu Fujihara, when he moves to America.

Leave a Reply

